Procrastination Monday

February 19, 2007

Bless me, #{Deity} for I have sinned, it’s been 12 days since my last confession….

It’s Procrastination Day today. Can’t get started. Hot and sticky here, bad night’s sleep, up at 6am. Plenty to do for clients, but none of it challenging, nor urgent thankfully. House is a mess, it was too hot to do all but the basics this last weekend.

More excuses than usual today, hey? I think it has a lot to do with the fact that I did get quite a bit done last week, still dragging my feet, but there was enough work to at least give myself a small pat on the back and enjoy a fairly guilt-free weekend – at least on the paid work side of things.

Reflecting on the past week, I can see that if I have a task that is a.) uber-urgent, b.) really interesting or c.) both, it will get done. Eventually. Someone commented a while back as to whether work was challenging enough, and right now, evidence says that no, it’s not, judging by the difference I felt when I had a couple of problems I dug my teeth into and actually solved last week…

I find it difficult however to transfer that enthusiasm to the horrors of maintenance programming, especially when it’s code I didn’t write, isn’t documented and therefore I don’t really understand.

Maintenance programming is a peculiar type of hell that most programmers find themselves in on many projects. You only have to spend a few minutes browsing http://thedailywtf.com to see how downright painful this can be. I’m honestly surprised that software engineers don’t beat dentists out in the “profession most likely to top themselves” stakes.

I’ve been doing this for too long, I need to find more greenfields projects. Something… anything to take my mind off crappy C++ code written by some mong who’s since fucked off to parts unknown and left me with his shit to clean up.

Grrr.

Leave a Reply

