I’ve been…

February 27, 2007

… working. Unbelievable. Something changed somewhere last week, and I found myself actually getting stuff done. I’ve got a few tricky problems on my plate to deal with, but since I’m actually productive, this will probably be the last post I make until I get stuck again.

A few thoughts on what might have helped to get me back on track:

  • Accepting there was a problem. For about a month, I was in denial that I literally couldn’t do work, instead I was beating myself up over being lazy, procrastinating, still in holiday mode, etc. Once I started to figure out that was more of a symptom than a root cause, it was a relief.
  • Realigning my expectations. Following from above, I have deliberately tried to reduce the amount of work I have, and to steadily work through the backlog of “stuff” that I had waiting for me, rather than biting off more than I could chew.
  • Reflecting on how I’m feeling about work and my progress. That’s this blog. It gives me a way to assemble my thoughts in some sort of vague order. I’ve never been one for journalling, but it’s quite cathartic writing this at times.
  • Sleep. Not that get to bed at 2am, wake after 10am stuff, but getting to bed around 11pm and up at 6am. Regularly.
  • Early mornings. Not sure what this is about because I’ve never been a morning person, but the 6am wakeup seems to let me get a lot of housekeeping out of the way, by the time 9am has rolled around, I have nothing to distract me, so I turn off my email client and RSS reader, close any non-work web sites, and crank some code for a bit.
  • Positive reinforcement. Letting myself actually feel like I’ve accomplished something, rather than just kicking myself over what remains to be done.

So there it is. That worked for me, no guarantees it will work for you though, but I’m going to keep doing those things, and I’ll check back in when either they stop working, or about a month’s time with a progress report!

Leave a Reply

